Skip to main page content.
FICPI-U.S. Web Banner

About FICPI-U.S.

History and Structure of FICPI-U.S.

FICPI has been established for over 100 years, but the National Section of FICPI for the United States (FICPI-U.S.) came into existence in 1981. Prior to the establishment of FICPI-U.S., FICPI accepted U.S. members on an individual basis.

FICPI-U.S. is governed by its Constitution which requires the election of an executive Council. At present, the Council consists of a President, a President-elect, a Secretary, a Treasurer, as officers, six Council Members and the immediate Past-President. The officers are elected for three-year terms and the six Council Members are elected for one-year terms.

FICPI-U.S. sends two Delegates to sit on the Executive Committee (ExCo) of FICPI. The U.S. members therefore have a say in the decisions of the international group.


Serving Member Interests

FICPI-U.S. serves the interests of its members within the United States by informing and commenting on domestic and international legislation governing intellectual property (patents, trademarks, copyright, etc.) and by arranging meetings where the members may meet and discuss topics of interest.


FICPI-U.S. and the international FICPI organization

FICPI has approximately 5,000 members from more than 80 countries and regions throughout the world. FICPI is unique, being the only international IP organization with members drawn solely from IP professionals in private practice.

FICPI is recognized and respected by the IP authorities as the voice of the IP profession worldwide. FICPI meets regularly with the heads and senior officers of IP offices in Europe, China, Japan, Korea, and the United States, as well as the European Commission, WIPO, WTO, and OHIM, to discuss the functioning of the IP system and proposed new laws, treaties, regulations, and practices from the perspective of the IP professionals who represent the majority of users.

FICPI members are organized in National Sections or in Associations. FICPI also has individual members for any country/region where a national organization does not exist as yet.

National Sections, such as FICPI-U.S., are autonomous organizations, with their own statutes, and are self-governing with respect to the admission of new members, who thereby automatically become members of FICPI.

Apart from various internal meetings, which are by invitation only, FICPI holds a World Congress every three years for FICPI members only. FICPI also holds OPEN Fora in the intervening two years between each World Congress for FICPI members as well as participants from industry, governmental and legislative bodies, and other interested parties.

A tripartite group consisting of FICPI-U.S. and the National Associations of FICPI Canada and FICPI UK holds an annual FICPI ABC CONFERENCE to which FICPI members worldwide are invited to attend.

More information on FICPI can be found at the international FICPI About page.


Current Council Members

President: Douglas T. Johnson

Councilor, Past-President: Andrew D. Meikle

President-elect: Robert S. Katz

Secretary: P. Branko Pejic

Treasurer: C. Gregory Gramenopoulos

Councilor: William Y. Klett III

Councilor: Raja N. Saliba

Councilor: Daniel J. Warren

Councilor: Stephen S. Wentsler


20 Reasons to Join FICPI (pdf)